Main Image

14 June 2021

The Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) has announced the Queen’s Birthday 2021 Honours list.

Thirteen residents from the Maribyrnong Electorate received honours, the highest number of people from Melbourne’s northwest on a single Awards day.

I would like to personally congratulate all the Maribyrnong locals who were honoured this year for their work for Australia and the community.

Four people became Members of the Order of Australia: former Victorian deputy premier Rob Hulls AM, the Victorian Multicultural Commission’s chair Viv Nguyen AM, advocate for deaf and hard of hearing in sport Anne Bremner AM, and educator Professor Ute Roessner AM.

Among the seven people who received a Medal of the Order of Australia were a surgeon, a horse trainer and teachers.

While Footscray local Major Michael Sipple CSM received the Conspicuous Service Media for his outstanding service as an Officer Commanding and engineer.

Each person on our local list has done something profound in their own area of expertise and passions to assist other Australians.

In a difficult time for many people, it is especially heartening to see the outstanding contributions people can make on a local level.

Congratulations also to every Australian who received an award today.



Ms Anne Bremner AM, Moonee Ponds. For significant service to people who are deaf or hard of hearing through sporting associations.

Mr Rob Hulls AM, Strathmore. For significant service to the people and Parliament of Victoria, and to the law.

Ms Vivienne Nguyen AM, Moonee Ponds, For significant service to the multicultural community of Victoria.

Professor Ute Roessner AM, Essendon. For significant service to tertiary education, particularly to the biosciences.

Dr Teresa De Fazio OAM, Moonee Ponds. For service to tertiary education.

Mr Brian Hanley OAM, Strathmore Heights. For service to secondary education.

Dr Igor Konstantinov OAM, Ascot Vale. For service to medicine as a cardiothoracic surgeon.

Mr Lawrence Larmer OAM, Strathmore. For service to the community through a range of roles.

Ms Megan O'Connell OAM, Essendon. For service to secondary education.       

Mr John Patterson OAM, Flemington. For service to horse racing.

Mr John Wightwick OAM, Maidstone. For service to youth through Scouts.

Ms Rebecca (Beck) Angel PSM, Airport West. For outstanding public service to Victoria Police.

Major Michal Sipple CSM, Footscray. For meritorious achievement as Officer Commanding and Senior Project Engineer at 19th Chief Engineer Works.